Although CFIT is an initiative of one particular Franciscan entity - the English-Speaking Conference of the Order of Friars Minor (OFM) - its membership from the beginning has included representatives of other Franciscan religious communities and of the major Franciscan study centers, as well as lay and religious scholars specializing in the Franciscan intellectual tradition.

Joseph Chinnici, OFM, chaired the Commission from 2001 to 2013, when he was succeeded by Dominic Monti, OFM. Current members of the Commission (2014) are: Joseph Chinnici, OFM (Franciscan School of Theology), F. Edward Coughlin, OFM (Siena College), David Couturier, OFM Cap. (Director, Franciscan Institute, St. Bonaventure University), Johannes B. Freyer, OFM (Pontifical University Antonianum), J.A. Wayne Hellmann, OFM Conv. (St. Louis University), Mary Beth Ingham, CSJ (Franciscan School of Theology), Timothy J. Johnson (Flagler College), Gary Maciag, OFM (Association of Franciscan Colleges and Universities), Dorothy McCormack , OSF (Executive Secretary), Daniel T. Michaels (KEYPOPPY: Technology for Education), Dominic V. Monti, OFM (St. Bonaventure University, Chair), Kevin Mullen, OFM (Liaison with the OFM English-Speaking Conference), Darleen Pryds (Franciscan School of Theology), William Short, OFM (Franciscan School of Theology), Kathie Uhler, OSF (Franciscan Federation), Keith Douglass Warner, OFM (Santa Clara University), and Marie Kolbe Zamora, O.S.F. (Silver Lake College). 

The Commission gathers in person annually for several days to map out initiatives. A Core Steering Committee composed of Dominic Monti, OFM, David Couturier, OFM Cap., J.A. Wayne Hellmann, OFM Conv., Dorothy McCormack, OSF, and Keith Douglass Warner, OFM guides the progress of work during the rest of the year. CFIT functions as a Secretariat of the English-Speaking Conference of the Order of Friars Minor, which provides funding for its operations and to whom it is responsible.

© 2016 Commission on the Franciscan Intellectual Tradition, . All Rights Reserved.